Shop in AdliswilGift vouchers Order by 4 pm – delivered next working day Free shipping from CHF 100.–* Over 8,000 products

Pectin (yellow ribbon), 30 g

Price: CHF 6.50
VAT included
Reference 002802

Pectin is a natural thickening agent that occurs in large quantities in apples, citrus fruits and some berries, for example. Thus, it is a perfect vegan alternative to gelatin and can be used for fruit jellies, gummy bears, pie fillings and jams.

Product features

Ingredients Fruit pectin (E440i), dextrose, acidifier (E337), emulsifier (E452i); May contain: GLUTEN, EGGS, SOY, MILK, HARD SKIN FRUIT, SWEAT DIOXIDE and SULFIT, LUPINS
Weight 30 g
Storage note Cool and dry at approx. 18°C
Country of production EU
Allergens None
Product Lactose Free Yes
Product suitable for vegetarians Yes
Product Gluten Free Yes
Product Vegan Yes
Product is kosher certified No
Product is halal certified No

Pectin (yellow ribbon), 30 g

Gelling agent is an indispensable helper when it comes to making creams, fillings and icings, with pectin the treats are also suitable for vegetarians and vegans. With the right dosage and application, soft masses are created with enough stability to keep their shape in a cake, for example. Fruit jellies or even gummy bears can also be made with pectin.

Pectin - Application

Unlike gelatine, pectin can also be stirred into cold masses or added to boiling water. Add about 5 to 6 g of the powder for half a liter of liquid. This can be cream, fruit juice, water or syrup. Bring the liquid to a bubbling boil. Mix some of the sugar from the recipe with the pectin and add the mixture to the hot liquid. After a short simmer, add the rest of the ingredients, or depending on the recipe, mix them after they have cooled for a short time. Note that pectin gels already at room temperature, so filling macarons with a fruit jelly, for example, is easier, but it must be worked quickly, especially with cake fillings and similar masses. Thus, the cakes made with pectin can withstand more heat and can be stored outside the refrigerator without any problems. If the liquid contains other perishable ingredients, the dessert should still be refrigerated, of course.

Pectin is suitable for all recipes that are normally made with gelatin. So if you want to make your favorite recipe vegetarian or vegan, pectin is the perfect choice. However, the correct dosage must first be determined exactly, at least 1% of the mass should be added to pectin, so you get a jelly first. For thicker masses, add more powder, but keep in mind that pectin is a thickening agent. This is not harmful to humans and has no maximum dosage, but still it should not be consumed in large quantities, because even in the human intestine remains the thickening effect.

Are you still looking for a gelling agent that is not gelatin? Then you have found a worthy substitute in pectin. Pectin, along with agar agar, is considered a vegetarian and vegan alternative to gelatin. The applications of the two gelling agents are the same. Pectin is known from the production for jellies, jams and marmalades, confectionery, baked goods or even ketchup and mayonnaise. Known as E 440 in the additive list, pectin is approved for food in general and without maximum quantity restriction. The thickener is not harmful to humans.

Suitable for fruit jellies or jams, pectin is an indispensable helper in every kitchen. Used like gelatin, pectin can be used as a thickener.

The natural powder produced from the peel of pome fruits is very versatile. Whether in jelly, jam, marmalade or confectionery production, gelatine can be replaced by pectin in all areas.

At miniSchoggi, the yellow ribbon pectin is used mainly in the production of our macarons. Even more specifically in the production of fruit jellies for the filling. The advantage of pectin over gelatin is the following. Not only is it vegetarian and vegan, unlike gelatin, but it also begins to gel at a lower temperature. This means that the fruit does not have to be heated for too long. For 1 kg of fruit you need 15 g pectin.

However, pectin is not only used in the kitchen. Medicine, the pharmaceutical industry and even the cosmetics industry also rely on the natural all-rounder. As an additive known as E 4400, you have certainly come across pectin before. From ketchup to hair gel to gummy bears, the substance, which is harmless to humans, is much represented in our everyday items.

Since the pectin is indigestible for humans, no maximum daily dose is set. However, do not forget, it is a thickener, which also has its effect in the intestine of humans.  

Allergy information & product description

Description Gelling agent for food
Cereals and cereal products containing gluten Does not contain
Crustaceans and crustacean products Does not contain
Eggs and egg products Does not contain
Fish and fish products Does not contain
Peanuts and peanut products Does not contain
Soy and soy products Does not contain
Nuts and nut products Does not contain
Milk and dairy products Does not contain
Celery and celery products Does not contain
Mustard and mustard products Does not contain
Sesame seeds and sesame seed products Does not contain
Sulphur dioxide and sulphites Does not contain
Lupine and lupine products Does not contain
Molluscs and mollusc products Does not contain
Milk sugar (lactose) Does not contain

Nutritional values / 100 g

Energy value in kJ 1142 kJ
Energy value in kcal 268 kcal
Fat 0.50 g
   of which saturated fatty acids 0.00 g
Protein 0.50 g
Salt 0.00 g
Carbohydrates 53.00 g
   of which sugars 53.00 g
Fiber 0.00 g

Related products